Coiling Masterclass with Anna

When Anna agreed to show me how she coils I didn’t realise how seminal it would be to my practice.  It was a couple of weeks before she got the time, but it was worth waiting for.  A few of the others joined us to make it a Mini Masterclass.

It was amazing to see her work – even the most basic bowl shape was beautiful. I drew a wonky vessel shape and Anna showed us how to pinch the coils into shape and add coils and form sticky out bits (technical term, sorry).

To practice what I’d learnt, I made the first stone pot, which was all coiled, and second stone pot, which combined coiling with flat slab work.

Leave a Reply

