Frances Lambe: Ceramic Sculptor

I’ve just found the work of Frances Lambe online – I love it!  She works in Ireland, inspired by the sea, landscape, pollen, seeds, nature and astronomy.  In the video below she talks about her working process.  The way she uses piercing/incising to create pattern and images is interesting, although the piercing is not something I’d like to try myself – phew!

However, she also makes suspended pieces, which is something I am considering as I’ve already made hung sculpture:

 

It strikes me how the majority of the work I like is monochrome.  Her method of generating and working up ideas resonates with me – I’m going to review and apply them to my own practice. I wish I could see her work ‘in the flesh’.

 

Leave a Reply

