More Musings

A couple of weeks off has given me plenty of time to reflect on my earlier posts about my practice Find a Problem, Ask a Question and The Way Forward? Tempus Fugit.  Two funerals in the same period and another next Friday also have a way of focusing the attention.

Part of me says ‘go for the easy option’.  At my age I’m not going to become a professional ceramicist or a ‘name’ like Anna is.  With luck I’ll do a few ceramics classes for hobby potters, exhibit with the NPA and at local fairs, maybe get a few pieces in local galleries. My holey/lumpy pods are more than adequate.  Another 3-4 to iron out the issues, and I’m away. I have plenty of drawings on which to base a body of work, plus ideas to extend the concept.  I even have drawings of ideas for making related small pieces for sale. Why wouldn’t I do it?

Because if I wanted it, these things wouldn’t be just drawings.  I’ve hit a wall where making is concerned.   Making the 4 larger pieces was exciting and challenging because I didn’t know if they’d work or what I’d end up with – if anything.

So, I’m going to explore form, subverting the double bowl.  Form interests me more than making patterns and surface texture. I made a start doing a few pages of drawings based on random form-subversions, which was more difficult than I anticipated. Now to try some maquettes.

 

Of course, there is the problem that exploring form makes handbuilding more difficult. That’s more than a bit scary. Will I be able to do it? But there will be families of forms to practice method. I think I have to have to give it a go. Life’s too short to make pods decorated with holes when you really want to explore form. And there’s always holey pods to fall back on if it all goes pear shaped!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

